Welsh Senedd members have called for a ceasefire in Gaza. Labour cabinet members including First Minister Mark Drakeford abstained on a Senedd vote, and 11 backbench MSs voted against the UK party line to call for an immediate ceasefire.

There are currently deep divides within the Labour Party over how the party should respond to the unfolding humanitarian disaster in Gaza which followed a cross-border attack in Israel by Hamas on October 7 where gunmen murdered 1,400 people and took 224 hostage. UK Labour leader Keir Starmer has stopped short of calling for a ceasefire saying that Israel has a right to defend itself against Hamas. Mr Drakeford has called for a "humanitarian pause" but has not gone as far as calling for a ceasefire. You can get more politics news and analysis straight to your inbox by subscribing to our Wales Matters newsletter here.

Labour MP Imran Hussain, shadow minister for the New Deal for Working People, quit Mr Starmer's shadow ministerial team over his desire to "strongly advocate for a ceasefire" in Gaza. The BBC has reported 68 Labour MPs have publicly expressed views that are, or could be perceived to be, at odds with the party leadership and 17 frontbenchers have put out statements, written or shared posts on social media doing the same.

READ MORE: Health boards in Wales asked to make even more spending cuts

READ MORE: Rhys Webb announces new job as he remains suspended from rugby

Cynon Valley MP Beth Winter has signed an amendment to the King's Speech calling for a ceasefire to try to force a vote on the floor of the Commons. We already knew Wales' health minister Eluned Morgan has broken from the official Labour line to call for a ceasefire in Gaza. You can read about that here. However she followed ministerial colleagues in abstaining from the vote.

Plaid Cymru held a debate in the Senedd on Wednesday, November 8, calling for an immediate ceasefire. Rhun ap Iorwerth, Plaid leader, said both Hamas' attacks on Israel and the "collective punishment" of Gaza were unjust and inhumane. The motion condemned both the "horrifying attacks carried out by Hamas against Israeli civilians" and "the Israeli government's indiscriminate attacks on Gaza, resulting in the death of thousands of innocent" Palestinians.

You can see the full text of the motion here. It was supported by Labour's North Wales MS Carolyn Thomas.

The vote carried with 24 members in support, 19 against and 13 abstentions.

The Labour MSs who backed the call for an immediate ceasefire are:

Buffy Williams, MS for Rhondda

Carolyn Thomas, MS for North Wales

Huw Irranca-Davies, MS for Ogmore

Jack Sargeant, MS for Alyn and Deeside

Jayne Bryant, MS for Newport West

Jenny Rathbone, MS for Cardiff Central

John Griffiths, MS for Newport East

Joyce Watson, MS for Mid and West Wales

Mike Hedges, MS for Swansea East

Rhianon Passmore, MS for Islwyn

Sarah Murphy, MS for Bridgend

How other MSs voted:


Dawn Bowden, Labour for Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney

Eluned Morgan, Labour for Mid and West Wales

Hannah Blythyn, Labour for Delyn

Jane Hutt, Labour for Vale of Glamorgan

Jeremy Miles, Labour for Neath

Julie James, Labour for Swansea East

Julie Morgan, Labour for Cardiff North

Lesley Griffiths, Labour for Wrexham

Lynne Neagle, Labour for Torfaen

Mark Drakeford, Labour for Cardiff West

Mick Antoniw, Labour for Pontypridd

Rebecca Evans, Labour for Gower

Vaughan Gething, Labour for Cardiff South and Penarth


Alun Davies, Labour MS for Blaenau Gwent

Andrew RT Davies, Conservative MS for South Wales Central

Darren Millar, Conservative MS for Clwyd West

Gareth Davies, Conservative MS for Vale of Clwyd

Hefin David, Labour for Caerphilly

James Davies, Conservative for Brecon and Radnorshire

Janet Finch-Saunders, Conservative for Aberconwy

Joel James, Conservative for South Wales Central

Ken Skates, Labour for Clwyd South

Laura Anne Jones, Conservative for South Wales East

Natasha Asghar, Conservative for South Wales East

Paul Davies, Conservative, Preseli Pembrokeshire

Peter Fox, Conservative, Monmouth

Russell George, Conservative for Montgomeryshire

Sam Rowlands, Conservatives for North Wales

Samuel Kurtz, Conservative for Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire

Tom Giffard, Conservative for South Wales West

Vicki Howell, Labour for Cynon Valley


Adam Price, Plaid Cymru MS for Carmarthen East and Dinefwr

Cefin Campbell, Plaid Cymru for Mid and West Wales

Delyth Jewell, Plaid Cymru for South Wales East

Heledd Fychan, Plaid Cymru for South Wales East

Jane Dodds, Lib Dem, Mid and West Wales

Llyr Gruffydd, Plaid Cymru for North Wales

Luke Fletcher, Plaid Cymru, South Wales West

Mabon ap Gwynfor, Plaid Cymru, Dwyfor Meirionnydd

Peredur Owen Griffiths, Plaid Cymru, South Wales East

Rhun ap Iorwerth, Plaid Cymru for Ynys Mon

Rhys ab Owen, Independent for South Wales Central

Sian Gwenllian, Plaid Cymru for North Wales

Sioned Williams, Plaid Cymru for South Wales West

Did not vote:

Altaf Hussain, Conservative MS for South Wales West

David Rees, Labour, Aberavon (Deputy Presiding Officer)

Elin Jones, Plaid Cymru for Ceredigion (Presiding Officer)

Lee Waters, Labour for Llanelli